Safari Tanzania

The United Republic of Tanzania is located in Eastern Africa between longitude 29o and 41o East, Latitude 1o and 12o South.

The United Republic of Tanzania was formed out of the union of two sovereign states namely Tanganyika and Zanzibar. Tanganyika became a sovereign state on 9th December, 1961 and became a Republic the following year. Zanzibar became independent on 10th December, 1963 and the People's Republic of Zanzibar was established after the revolution of 12th January, 1964. The two sovereign republics formed the United Republic of Tanzania on 26th April, 1964. However, the Government of the United Republic of Tanzania is a unitary republic consisting of the Union Government and the Zanzibar Revolutionary Government.

Tanzania is the biggest (land area) among the East African countries (i.e. Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania). Tanzania has a spectacular landscape of mainly three physiographic regions namely the Islands and the coastal plains to the east; the inland saucer-shaped plateau; and the highlands. The Great Rift Valley that runs from north east of Africa through central Tanzania is another landmark that adds to

The scenic view of the country. The country has the largest concentration of wild animals. It also has pristine sandy beaches and Africa’s highest and snow-capped mountain, Mt. Kilimanjaro. Tanzania is home to the world famous National Parks and Game Reserves of: Ngorongoro Crater, Selous Game Reserve, Gombe Stream, Tarangire, Lake Manyara, Mikumi, Arusha, Ruaha, Saadani, Udzungwa Mountains, and Mkomazi Game Reserve. Other Game Reserves include: Amani, Kigosi, Lukwika-Lumesule, Maswa, Monduli Mountains, Msangesi and Ugala.

Dar es Salaam is the commercial capital and major sea port for Tanzania Mainland and it serves neighbouring land-locked countries of Malawi, Zambia, Burundi, Rwanda, and Uganda, as well as Eastern DRC. Other sea ports include Zanzibar, Tanga, and Mtwara. Because of its geographical and locational advantage, Dar es Salaam Port presents itself as the gateway into East and Central Africa. Furthermore, this renders Tanzania as a logical investment destination for investors.

Facts In Summary:

United Republic of Tanzania (formerly United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar)


945, 090 (886, 040 km2 land including Zanzibar, Mafia and Pemba Islands; 59, 050 km2 water)


42,746,620 (July 2011 est.)


1963-1964 (from UK), Merger of Mainland and Zanzibar


Dodma, 350 000 population.


GMT: +3 hours


Kiswahili (Swahili), English, and Arabic


Tanzanian Shilling; 1 Tanzanian shilling (TSh) = 100 cents


Kenya, Burundi, Zambia, Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda, Uganda, Indian Ocean.


Mt. Kilimanjaro; 5, 895 m. Highest mountain in Africa.


Indian Ocean; 0m


Varies from tropical along coast to temperate in highlands.

Translate »